Suizenji Gardens

Not much to talk about today.  I woke up early which turned out to be a horrible decision and then went down to the lobby for breakfast.  Since I was in a Dormy Inn, the breakfast was fantastic.  I’m also in a Dormy Inn in Nagasaki as well and I’m thrilled.  Right after breakfast, I took the train to Suizenji Gardens.  The garden was built as a tea retreat and built near a spring fed pond becasue the water was excellent for making tea.  The gardens are centered around a grass hill which is modeled after Mt. Fuji.

The gardens also host the Izumi shrine which is dedicated to the Hosokawa family who built the gardens.

With that done, I fetched my bags from the hotel and left for the Shinkansen station.  I rode the Shinkansen to Shin-Tosu and then transferred for an hour and a half local train ride to Nagasaki.  On the train to Nagasaki, I sat next to a girl from Denmark who had been traveling since early April.  She had traveled for six weeks all over China and then went to Vietnam and Korea for another four.  She had some interesting stories and I told her some places in Japan she should definitely go.  After I reached Nagasaki and checked into my new Dormy Inn, I immediately ventured out into the city to find something to eat since I didn’t get a chance to eat lunch.  For around 200 years or so, Nagasaki was the only city allowed to do trade with foreign countries.  Since Chinese silks were highly in demand to create Japanese kimonos, Nagasaki was a flourishing city and very important to Japan.  As country’s gate to the outside world, there are a few foreign settlements in the city.  One of these is Nagasaki’s Chinatown which is right next to my hotel.  I walked through the streets for a few minutes before I stumbled upon a restaurant which looked good and I had one of my favorites, sweet and sour pork.  Tomorrow I go to the Western settlement in Nagasaki, Glover Garden.

I’m looking forward to wandering around the city tomorrow.  I have a guide to take me to the coolest places.  In addition, my guidebook says that the local mountain is a great place to watch the sunset at night and see the city come to life at night.  If the weather breaks by the evening, I may just relax up there until the last cable car.

Leave a Reply

